• Clinic >
  • Thermal water

Thermal water

General information concerning the thermal springs at Loèche-les-Bains

The thermal springs at Loèche-les-Bains have been used without interruption from Roman times to the present day. The water of Loèche-les-Bains takes more than 40 years to course through underground passages and around 65 thermal springs in all are mentioned in the land register. They mark the emergence of warm or hot percolated water at temperatures of up to 51°C. The total capacity at Loèche-les-Bains has been conservatively estimated at approximately 3,000 litres/minute of pure thermal water.

 

Composition of the thermal water

All thermal water at Loèche-les-Bains comes from the same thermal aquifer. The water is rich in calcium sulphate and contains slightly above-average levels of sodium, strontium and iron, and a significant quantity of fluorine. It has a high content of dilute solids (1,800-2,000 mg/litre). These unique properties give the water used in swimming pools at the Leukerbad Clinic its therapeutic qualities.

The mineral springs at Loèche-les-Bains contain mainly calcium sulphate, i.e. gypsum. Hot water containing gypsum soothes rheumatological and neurological disorders and aids recovery after accidents.

 

Effects of heat

The action of heat relaxes the muscles, improves the elasticity of connective tissue and liquefies synovial fluid – which has a positive effect on painful arthritic joints.

 

Chemical and mechanical effects

  • As the skin absorbs and repels water, an exchange of ions is created.
  • Thanks to the water’s buoyancy, the effective weight of an immersed body is less than 10% of its normal level. Movements are therefore easier to make in water and exert less stress on joints. In addition, in water, support muscles relax automatically in a reflex action.
  • Viscosity and resistance to friction create an obstacle to the body’s movements. As a result, during training therapies in water (swimming with flippers, WetVest, Aquajogging), muscles are strengthened and movements harmonised.

 

Counter-indication:

  • During the onset of rheumatological crises, in the presence of acute lumbar or back pain
  • In cases of severe high blood pressure or any type of decompensated heart disease
  • Counter-indication is absolute for immunodeficient patients after corticotherapy or treatment with immunosuppressives, as well as kidney transplant and dialysis patients

 

Analysis results of the “Rossquelle” spring

• Clinique >
  • Eau thermale

Eau thermale

Informations générales sur les sources thermales de Loèche-les-Bains

Les sources thermales de Loèche-les-Bains sont utilisées sans interruption de l'époque romaine à nos jours. L'eau de Loèche-les-Bains fait un voyage de plus de 40 ans dans ses voies d'écoulement souterraines, en tout, environ 65 sources thermales sont mentionnées au cadastre. Il s'agit de sorties d'eau d'infiltration tièdes ou chaudes pouvant aller jusqu'à 51°C.  Le débit total d'eau thermale de Loèche-les-Bains est évalué avec prudence à environ 3.000 l/min d'eau thermale non mélangée.

 

Composition de L’eau thermale

Toutes les eaux thermales de Loèche-les-Bains proviennent d'un même aquifère thermal. Il s'agit d'une eau riche en sulfate de calcium avec une teneur en sodium, strontium et fer légèrement au-dessus de la moyenne et une teneur considérable en fluor. Elle présente une forte teneur en éléments solides dilués (1.800-2.000 mg/l). Ces éléments uniques apportent à l’eau utilisée dans les bassins de la Leukerbad Clinic des vertus thérapeutiques.

Les sources minérales de Loèche-les-Bains contiennent principalement du sulfate de calcium, c'est à dire du gypse. Les eaux chaudes contenant du gypse apaisent les affections rhumatologiques et neurologiques et soulagent les séquelles d'accidents.

 

Effets de la chaleur

L'action de la chaleur détend les muscles, améliore l'élasticité des tissus conjonctifs et liquéfie la synovie - ce qui a un effet positif sur les articulations souffrant d'arthrose.

 

Effets chimiques et mécaniques

  • Avec l'absorption et le rejet d'eau par la peau, un échange d’ions se crée.
  • Grâce à la poussée de l'eau, le corps immergé pèse moins de 10% de son poids effectif. Ainsi, les mouvements sont plus faciles à effectuer dans l'eau et ménagent les articulations. De plus, dans l'eau, la musculature de soutien et de maintien se détend par réflexe.
  • La viscosité et la résistance au frottement freinent les mouvements du corps. Ainsi lors des thérapies d'entraînement dans l'eau (nage palmée, WetVest, Aquajogging), la musculature est renforcée et l'enchaînement des mouvements harmonisé.

 

Contre-indication:

  • Lors de poussée de crises rhumatismales, lors de douleurs dorsales ou lombaires aiguës
  • En cas d’hypertension artérielle sévère ou une cardiopathie quelconque en décompensation
  • Les immunodéprimés après une corticothérapie, ou un traitement par immunosuppresseurs ainsi que les greffés rénaux et les dialysés font l'objet d'une contre-indication absolue

 

Résultats d’analyse de la source «Rossquelle»